top of page

A New Chapter

Throughout my photography career, there have been definite paths and plans, and then there have been things that have just "happened," or fell into my lap, seemingly out of nowhere. 

This particular event falls somewhere in between. 

I've always wanted a dedicated studio space of my own. I mean, of course I do. Who wouldn't? In my late teens and early twenties, I worked as a studio assistant and editor for two different photographers downtown. Even then, when the current downtown revival was in its infancy, I just loved the atmosphere. 

My first studio job was in the building that now houses Fat Daddy's BBQ. I loved grabbing a tea at The Station House, turning on some jazz, and starting to work with the quiet hum of the downtown district behind me. 

As I branched out on my own, I didn't really feel the need for a dedicated space for my sessions. Shooting weddings and family portraits, mostly on location or in-home, a studio felt like an extra responsibility I couldn't afford or take on. It never really caused me any issues, and didn't seem to stop me from doing what I wanted to do in 2011, which was shoot anything and everything! 

Flash forward to last year, in the fall of 2016. 

Living in Benton for a few years was hard for me and I had been dealing with a particularly heavy spell of depression. I was at a point in my life where I wasn't sure if I was on the right path, or that I even had what it takes to follow my dream of shooting full time. 

In January 2017, I moved back to Russellville. After encouragement from my husband, my mother, and my close friend (and current lead stylist!), I decided it was time to go for it. I knew that it was now or never and time for me take the leap and dive into working as a photographer full time. I started working with some really wonderful coaches and small business professionals and, before I knew it, there was a team of people behind me who really believed in what I was have to offer the women of the area. 

Suddenly, I was on the fast track to shooting full time. I had a beautiful second bedroom that served as a modest, simple studio and my calendar began to fill up. As much as I loved the space, I needed more. 

Out of nowhere, this fantastic space fell into my lap! It's downtown in the same district where my photographer's journey began, and has exactly the same light, feminine feel my clients have come to love. It's still a hazy dream; I don't even know if it's totally hit me yet, but I'm so excited to announce that I'll be joining the downtown Russellville community, and I'll be bringing with me a unique photographic experience with me! 

Right now, things are still under renovations, so we'll be patiently waiting to get into the space full time, but our plan is to have our grand opening at Fall Fest at the end of October! You'll be able to come meet me, see my work and the space I've created, ask questions, and see some great special guests we will have that day.  

I can't wait to share more about my journey and the journey of my studio with you, and I hope you're as excited as I am to bring some beauty and empowerment to downtown Russellville! 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page